The Void

Envy

I envy people with children.

As they walk down the street all I feel is a deep longing in my heart.

Sometimes my gaze is a little too long and I know people wonder why.

The same set of feet are next to me but you just can’t see them. Only I can.

That small voice asks me to buy some ice cream or toy. Sometimes I do and hide them away. Maybe give them away.

Sitting on a bench watching my daughter sliding right behind yours, laughing under tears come out.

At times the envy turns to angry when I see somebody yell at a child.

Sometimes the angry just helps fill the void. Waiting for the love to push it aside.

I need love to come back.

One thought on “The Void

Leave a Reply

