Don’t Borrow Money from Family, EVER!!!!

At 12:46 p.m. EDT on Wednesday July 22, 2015 I became free of a huge burden that has been hanging over me for the past three years.  I finally was able to pay back the money that was owed to my ex’s parents!!!  They had been less than understanding about how I was using just about every free dime I had to pay my bills, including the ridiculous amount that I spend weekly, monthly on my medical situation.  Insurance is a lovely thing, but I promise you that if I didn’t have a decent job, some things that could be sold and the help of some people to get my finances back in proper order, things could be much worse.

$8000, that sounds like not that much but when you are dropping that amount a month on medicines and so many co-pays for things it might as well be $1,000,000,000!  Now don’t think I’m whining about this, I’m not.  I needed help from them but they just wanted their money back.  Didn’t matter about the other things, not my health, not their daughter’s anything, just the money.  Turning me into some type of monster to justify their actions later, it wasn’t fair.  I fought with the ex when I should have been fighting with them.  Even my own parents told me it was a waste of my time to speak with them because they just wanted their way.  You can’t fight “My mother doesn’t care, she just wants the money back!”  Great attitude!

Look, it was nice they loaned us the money in the first place.  Plenty of people wouldn’t have been able to do even that, but what they didn’t consider is that they needed to be honest about their own finances.  I later learned too much during the course of protecting myself from their craziness.  Their house of cards was balancing on a pin tip since they wanted to put on a show they couldn’t support.  There came a time when I realized they shouldn’t have loaned us the money, they didn’t have it.

I worked hard to support their daughter.  Worked even harder when it came to their granddaughter, but sometimes it just isn’t enough for some people.  Money really can be the root of all evil, and it also can create such a blinding course of action.

So what would I tell someone not to do?  Do not ever borrow money from family!!!  Don’t do it unless you are talking about the cost of a cup of coffee.  The long term consequences are not good.  Especially when you consider dealing with a person who puts their money ahead of my health.

How do I know the exact time?  The lawyer who has been handing some things during my “hospital time” tracked the letter.  Now I wonder how quickly someone drove to the bank to verify a bank issued check.  Fortunately someone is watching that for me.  Time to get back to the thing I can do something about, trying to beat Cancer!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Well, I Never….”

2 thoughts on “Don’t Borrow Money from Family, EVER!!!!

  1. “but what they didn’t consider is that they needed to be honest about their own finances….since they wanted to put on a show they couldn’t support. There came a time when I realized they shouldn’t have loaned us the money, they didn’t have it.”

    EXCELLENT! YOU SPEAK TRUTH….

    Happy for the financial release and continued strength as you beat cancer!

    e

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

