Writing 101 – Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

Today’s Prompt: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration – [in this case my book was All the Light You Cannot See]

Dear Sirs,

I counted the steps it takes me to get to the mailbox, roughly 150!  There are days when I walk there and find nothing but magazines or letters from some company asking me to sign up for some additional services.  Other days there are reminders of things I would rather forget.  Bills, Bills, Bills as Destiny’s Child sang about years ago.  I don’t know what to expect on any given day, but there are a few things I don’t expect to see.  I would like to address that issue with your company.

Receiving a Birthday Card is supposed to be a joyous occasion, something that reminds you that another year has passed and you are on the minds and in the hearts of others.  The ads you sent along with them were equal amounts of confusion and a painful reminder of yet another year passing.  Why would you be thanking me for my series of recent purchases?  I know I haven’t stepped in your store since February of 2014.  It’s not like I need to look at my credit card statement, there has been no reason to go shopping for the products you provide.  If someone is using my rewards card, well you should notify them that the points they believe have been accumulating are just not going to be there.  But then if they are using my card, I guess the points would be available, let them use them!

Please take us off of your list.  I celebrate that birthday in a manner very different from what you intended when you sent the card.  It’s a solemn event now.  The candles aren’t being lit for a cake that shouldn’t be bought.  I like cake, but not on that day.  But that is a matter for me to deal with, alone.  The reminders in my house are hard enough.

I don’t hold you or your company responsible for my reactions, I own my feelings.  But I do question thanking someone for business that just didn’t occur.  It seems a little in congruent.

To sum this up, please remove my address and any other data you may have from your system.  I don’t think I wish to contemplate next year’s reminder.  That may feel cruel.

Sincerely,

Lary

3 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

Leave a Reply

