Love is Sacrifice

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Want to Know What Love Is.”

In my mind the common thread through all types of love is sacrifice.  There are all kinds of levels one has to commit to when you love something, but what are you willing to give up in order to say you truly love something?  Is it people?  A future job opportunity?  I’ve know I’ve said that I would gladly have traded some portion of my lifespan so that another would be able to survive, be happy, have the chance at a life.

I love calamari, yes the little ringlets of squid so delicately fried in a tempura-like batter and placed in a heaping mound on a plate with marinara sauce.  But that also means that there are plenty of other foods that I am willing to just skip over any time I go to a certain restaurant.  Am I missing out on something?  Yes.  I’m allowing myself to willfully ignore the other choices, so that I can stick with something I know that I enjoy.  Might the mussels have been better that evening?  Sure, but I’m staying with calamari!

M puppy and I have a mutually respectful balance of sacrifice.  Lately her’s has been time spent with me due to my being unavailable to even rub her head.  The trade-off is that if I have something on my plate that she is even sniffing at, I tear off a piece and place it in her mouth.  I don’t think I’ve actually eaten a pizza crust in 10 years.  Do I care?  Not at all, she loves them.  Her odd yeasty bones.

If you have a group of friends that you care about, you give up on something so that they can be happy.  The group functioning better when they agree.  Are their times when I would have preferred a different menu, maybe wanted to see a different movie?  Definitely, but those are completely simple items to give up on.  Maybe they know something I don’t, maybe I will enjoy this other game rather than the one I had originally intended to see.

Lastly and most importantly, at least to my way of thinking, is the sacrifices you are willing to make for your family.  Going through a medical treatment that even the doctors aren’t sure about just because it makes your mother feel like something is being done.  Keeping your tongue in your mouth when the idiot aunt shows up for the holidays and says something completely stupid just because she can.  Or the cousin who shows a severe lack of emotions when talking about something painful to me personally. [in that case I just walked out of my own house!]

But the thing to remember is to not give up on people.  I gave up a job for my ex, but it was because I wanted her to not have to give up on something she was hoping for.  It’s been months since she and I have spoken, but to this day I have not given up on her.  Maybe that sounds stupid, but I have always believed in her, her abilities.  But that now must be put aside, another sacrifice of my heart that I don’t wish to make, but know it has to be done anyway.

What are you willing to give up so that another person can succeed?

Leave a Reply

