Playgrounds!!! Huge Playgrounds!!!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “A Plot of Earth.”

The first thing that comes to mind is wanting to buy my own little island in the middle of nowhere.  I’m not sure what warmer than average climate it would need to represent, but then my mind shifts to other notions.  The Island of Dr. Moreau?  Maybe a little Lord of the Flies?  In some romantic sense it could be The Blue Lagoon, but more suited to my age!  I think I should go with a more realistic set of expectations.

Every time the lottery hits some absurd value, you hear lots of people talking about what they would do with the money.  The second thing that comes to mind after becoming completely debt free in every sense is building a playground.  I did this once several years ago with a charity group and it was one of the most satisfying things I had ever done.  In the middle of Washington D.C. less than a mile from the Capitol Building sits this simple community center with a sweet little park.

The scale of mine could be considerably larger, maybe something on a lesser Disney World type level?  I live in a community where every child has a swing-set in the back yard, some of which I have helped build for others over the years.  Then I take the dog to the local park and in some ways it is completely lacking in activities for children.  Odd thing to say about a park, but it is more about organized sports than family time.

There would be swings and slides, monkey bars and geodesic domes, those crazy spring loaded creatures where you rock back and forth trying to touch the ground.  Multiple levels of platforms for every pirate fantasy to be fulfilled, the ground covered in soft material in case the games of tag get a little wild!

There would be a hill for sledding regardless of the season.  Dozens of bikes any child could pick from to ride, maybe a skate park?  The possibilities are endless, the dreams of this something that I desperately want to live.  With whatever time I have left on this planet, this is the goal!

Leave a Reply

