The Mystery Sixth?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Five a Day.”

My warden’s are asking a simple question “What five foods do you want left behind on this island with you?”  So many possibilities, all the things in the world I could enjoy.  There were some very obvious things that came to mind and then I pushed them back.  Not wanting to push my luck by taking too much time, I offered the following items and the reasons I wanted them.

Tea – it is versatile.  I could have it warm, I could have it cold [or at least cool, don’t want to make ice a stupid request!]  My preference would be for a nice red tea.  Something that would have the potential to calm my stomach should the need arise.  Red tea is one of the things they suggested would be comforting during a round of chemotherapy, and they were right.  Maybe it could have the same result when I am sitting on the beach, watching the sun set, yet all alone with my thoughts.  Red Tea would be my first choice!

Oatmeal – Steel cut is supposed to be the best for you, but I would take an endless supply of Quaker Oats Cranberry Oatmeal.  There are so many times when I eat oatmeal for breakfast.  I went out a few weeks ago to a very nice place and ordered the oatmeal.  they would have made me anything I wanted for breakfast, but a bowl of oatmeal with blueberries was the only thing that jumped from the page.

Apples – Fuji variety.  The neighborhood I grew up in as a teenager was carved out of an old apple orchard.  There were plenty of people who still had the trees in their yards.  The home owners association would get together and take lessons every few years on how to properly maintain them.  But the biggest thing for me was that there was a basketball court in the neighborhood surrounded by apple trees.  Every fall as I was getting ready to play, I could walk right over and grab one off of the tree, wipe it off with my shirt, and take a huge bite.

Peanut Butter – Creamy and I don’t really care who makes it.  For me it’s a comfort food of the highest order.  I just ate a spoonfull before I sat down to write this.  It wasn’t huge, but it was calming.  There are a limited amount of foods I can eat these days [see “tea” for the reason!], but in order to keep up appearances high calorie foods help keep some of the weight on.  Anyway, peanut butter!

And finally Jelly Beans!  This may seem a little out of sorts with the rather healthy choices made previously, but I need to have a few every once in a while just to remind myself of the things in life worth fighting for.  It’s my form of rebellion when asked what I had for lunch.  [today it will be a banana followed by a protein shake.  The first part great, that other one not as much!]  I’m partial to the black licorice variety.  You know, the cheap kind people pick up for Easter baskets.  It’s not that I don’t appreciate the higher quality ones, but they don’t make black licorice!

The fun part about all of my choices is that if you think carefully about the combinations, they can actually make a sixth food with the right amounts mixed.  A little bit of personal rebellion for the people who are holding me on the island.  But I would be willing to share with my guards [someone has to deliver food once in a while!].

Leave a Reply

